Free Blogger Templates

Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award

Awards Grants and Scholarships in Library and Information Science

Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award is given by the ALCTS. ALCTS is the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, a division of the American Library Association. ALCTS is the national association for information providers who work in collections and technical services, such as acquisitions, cataloging, metadata, collection management, preservation, electronic and continuing resources.

Deadline for nominations is November 15.


This award honors the legacy of Ross Atkinson, distinguished library leader, author, and scholar, whose extraordinary service to ALCTS and the library community at-large serves as a model for those who follow.
The award is given to recognize the contribution of a library leader through demonstrated exceptional service to ALCTS and its areas of interest (acquisitions, cataloging and metadata, collection management, continuing resources, and preservation and reformatting).


Nominees must be ALCTS members. Criteria for selection of the winner will include:
  • Recognized leadership and service in ALCTS;
  • Exemplary contributions to the profession in areas of particular interest to ALCTS;
  • Significant contribution to professional literature in areas of particular interest to ALCTS;
  • Outstanding record of grants and/or research in areas of particular interest to ALCTS;
  • Recognition of achievements, i.e., awards, citations, etc., including other ALCTS awards, citations, etc.;
  • Recognized leadership and service in institutions, organizations, and professional associations at local, state, regional, or national level. 


Nominations shall include:
  • the name, address, telephone number and e-mail address of nominee and nominator;
  • a letter of nomination not to exceed three pages, with a rationale for the nomination that addresses each of the criteria for the award;
  • a current, complete curriculum vita of the nominee;
  • three to five letters of support, not to exceed two pages each, providing additional evidence in support of the nomination. Letters need only address the nominee's achievements in those award criteria with which the letters' writers are familiar.
Nominations for persons not selected for the award in any given year may be reconsidered in subsequent years provided the person still meets the award criteria above and upon re-nomination with an updated portfolio as necessary.
The size of the portfolio received in support of the nominee shall not be the determining factor in the selection process; rather, the evidence presented in support of the person's accomplishments is what shall be considered.


The award, sponsored by EBSCO, consists of $3,000 and a citation, given annually to one person. If a suitable candidate is not found in any given year, the award will not be presented that year.


The recipient will be notified no later than March 1 and an announcement will be made via press release from ALCTS.
The award is formally presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the ALA Annual Conference.

Award Jury

If you have questions, please contact Gina Solares, chair of the Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award Jury.

Award Recipients

2019Stephen Bosch
2018Mary Case
2017Jeanne Drewes
2016Janet Swan Hill
2015Carlen Ruschoff
2014Olivia M. A. Madison
2013Barbara B. Tillett
2012Pamela Bluh
2011Jan Merrill-Oldham
2010Peggy Johnson
2009Cindy Hepfer
2008Carol Pitts Diedrichs
2007Brian E. C. Schottlaender

Award Website



1. American Library Association, "Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award" (accessed June 28, 2020).