Free Blogger Templates

Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award

Awards Grants and Scholarships in Library and Information Science

Deadline for nominations is December 1.


The Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award is given to the author(s) of the best paper published each year in the official journal of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, Library Resources & Technical Services.


Each of the papers published in the volume year is eligible for consideration with the exception of official reports and documents, obituaries, letters to the editor, and biographies of award winners.
Each paper shall be judged on the following points:
  • Content with a significant contribution about one or more issues addressed by ALCTS and its sections.
  • Statements in the paper are adequately supported by accurate data and documentation.
  • Clear and readable writing style.


The award consists of a $250 cash prize and a citation.


The award is formally presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony at the ALA Annual Conference each year.

Award Jury

For nomination information contact Kate Harcourt, chair of the Best of LRTS Award Jury.

Award Website

Award Recipients

Award Recipients

2019Amy Jankowski, Anne Schultz and Laura Soito for “Motley Crew: Collaboration across an Academic Library to Revive an Orphaned Collection”. (vol. 62, no. 3, July 2018, pp. 114 -126).
2018Deborah B. Henry and Tina M. Neville for “Repositories at Master’s Institutions: A Census and Analysis”. (vol. 61, no. 3, July 2017, pp. 124-33).
2017Kelly J. Thompson for "More Than a Name: A Content Analysis of Name Authority Records for Authors Who Self-Identify as Trans." (vol. 60, no. 3, July 2016, pp. 140-155). 
2016M. Pilar Alonso Lifante and Francisco Javier Molero Madrid for “Enhancing OPAC Records: Evaluating and Fitting Within Cataloging Standards a New Proposal of Description Parameters for Historical Astronomical Resources.” (vol. 59, no. 4, October 2015, pp. 140-161).
2015Christine N. Turner for "E-Resource Acquisitions in Academic Library Consortia," (vol. 58, no. 1 January 2014, pp 33–48).
2014Wen-Ying Lu and Mary Beth Chambers for "PDA Consortium Style: The CU MyiLibrary Cataloging Experience," (vol. 57, no. 3 July 2013, pp. 164–78).
2013Philip Evan Schreur for "The Academy Unbound: Linked Data as Revolution," (vol. 56, no.4 October 2012, pp. 227–37).
2012Erin Stalberg and Christopher Cronin for "Assessing the Cost and Value of Bibliographic Control," (vol. 55, no.3 July 2011, pp.124–37).
2011Whitney Baker and Liz Dube for “Identifying Standard Practices in Research Library Book Conservation,” (vol. 54, no.1 January 2011, pp.21–39).
2010Patricia Dragon, for “Name Authority Control in Local Digitization Projects and the Eastern North Carolina Postcard Collection,” (vol. 53, no. 3 July 2009, pp. 185–96).
2009Karen Schmidt, Wendy Allen Shelburne, and David Steven Vess for “Approaches to Selection, Access, and Collection Development in the Web World,” (vol. 52, no. 3, July 2008, pp. 184–191).
2008William H. Walters for “A Regression-based Approach to Library Fund Allocation,” (vol. 51, no. 4, October 2007, pp. 263–278).
2007Jim Stemper and Susan Barribeau for "Perpetual Access to Electronic Journals: A Survey of One Academic Research Library’s Licenses," (vol. 50, no 2, April 2006, pp. 91–109).
2006Jennifer Bowen for "FRBR: Coming Soon to Your Library," (vol. 49, no. 3, July 2005, pp. 175–188).
2005Kristin Antelman for “Identifying the Serial Work as a Bibliographic Entity,” (vol. 48, no. 4, October 2004, pp. 238–55).
2004Amy Weiss for "Proliferating Guidelines: A History and Analysis of the Cataloging of Electronic Resources," (vol. 47, no. 4 October 2003, pp. 171–187).
2003Richard Fyffe for "Technological Change and the Scholarly Communications Reform Movement: Reflections on Castells and Giddens," (vol. 46, no. 2 April 2002, pp. 50–61).
2002Bartley A. Burk and Laura D. Shedenhelm for "Book Vendor Records in the OCLC Database: Boon or Bane?," 45(1): 10–19.
2001Sherry L. Vellucci for "Metadata and Authority Control," 44(1): 33–43.
2000Robert Conrad Winke for "An analysis of Tables of Contents in Recent English-Language Books," 43(1): 14–27.
1999Lois Mai Chan and Diane Vizine-Goetz for "Toward a Computer-Generated Subject Validation File: Feasibility and Usefulness," 42(1): 45–60.
1998Samuel G. Demas and Jennie L. Brogdon for "Determining Copyright Status for Preservation and Access: Defining Reasonable Effort," 41(4): 323–334.
1997Michael Kaplan for his article "Technical Services Workstations: A Review of the State of the Art," 40(2): 171–183.
1996Samuel G. Demas, Peter McDonald, and Gregory Lawrence for "The Internet and Collection Development: Mainstreaming Selection of Internet Resources" 39 (July 1995), 275–90.
1995Martha M. Yee for "Manifestations in Near-Equivalence: Theory, with special attention to moving-image materials" (vol. 38, no. 3, July 1994, pp. 227–255).
1994Angela Giral and Arlene G. Taylor for "Indexing Overlap and Consistency Between the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals and the Architectural Periodicals Index" (vol. 37, no. 1, January 1993, pp. 19–44).
1993Ross Atkinson for "The Acquisitions Librarian as Change Agent in the Transition of the Electronic Library" (vol. 36, no. 1, January 1992, pp. 7–22).
1992Karen A. Schmidt for "The Education of the Acquisitions Librarian: A Survey of ARL Acquisitions Librarians" (vol. 35, no. 1, January 1991, pp. 7–22).
1991Beth M. Paskoff and Anna H. Perrault for "A Tool for Comparative Collection Analysis: Conducting a Shelflist Sample to Construct a Collection Profile" (vol. 34, no. 2, April 1990, pp. 199–215).
1990Joe A. Hewitt for "On the Nature of Acquisitions" (vol. 33, no. 2, April, 1989, pp. 105–22).
1989Roxanne Sellberg for "The Teaching of Cataloging in U.S. Library Schools" (vol. 32, no. 1, January, 1988, pp. 30–43).
1988No award presented
1987Patricia A. McClung for "Costs Associated with Preservation Microfilming: Results of the Research Libraries Group Studies" (vol. 30, no. 4, October/December, 1986, pp. 363–76).